Date of Statehood: December 14, 1819

Capital: Montgomery

Size: 52,419 square miles

Number of Counties:  67

Nickname(s): Cotton State, Yellow Hammer State, Heart of Dixie

Motto:  Audemus jura nostra defendere   (“We Dare Maintain Our Rights”) 

Tree: Southern Longleaf Pine

Flower: Camellia (see title photo above)

Bird: Northern Flicker

Our Blog Posts About Alabama

No Results Found

The page you requested could not be found. Try refining your search, or use the navigation above to locate the post.

Want to enjoy more of our adventures?

Why not check some of these?
Click below to travel with us!

All images on this page has been taken by Scott and Ren, unless otherwise cited.